Swim & Dive: Women's 200 Medley Relay Team Take 4th In NCAA Day One

Swim & Dive: Women's 200 Medley Relay Team Take 4th In NCAA Day One

GREENSBORO, NC. – The Pomona-Pitzer Swim & Dive program got off to a solid start in day one the NCAA Swim & Dive National Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina at the Greensboro Aquatic Center as the men's side finished tied for ninth with 30 points while the women are in eighth at 37 points. The women's side had the highlight of the day as the 200 Medley Relay team of Angela Ling, Mackenzie Cummings, Allison Liu, and Hannah Zurmuhl finished fourth in the final event with a time of 1:42.12. They finished third in the preliminaries at 1:42.70.

In the men's 500-Yard Freestyle, Will Abele finished 10th with a time of 4:28.87 while Paddy Baylis took 11th at 4:30.80. Abele went on to finish 2nd in the consolation final at 4:28.86 and Baylis took 12th at 4:29.84.

Sarah Jin raced in the Women's 200 Individual Medley and finished 41st in the preliminaries at 2:09.49. Alex Werner placed 44th at 2:11.22.

Jason Lu placed 19th overall in the preliminaries of the Men's 200-yard Individual Medley, missing out on the finals.

In the Women's 50 Freestyle Hannah Zurmuhl finished ninth in the preliminaries at 23.39 seconds, making the final round while teammate Maddie Kauahi finished 40th, missing the cut at 23.90 seconds. Zurmuhl went on to place in 10th in the final at 23.40.

At the Men's 50 Freestyle, Lukas Ming Menkhoff placed 23rd, missing the final cut with a time of 20.70.

On the Men's 200 Yard Medley Relay, the Sagehens' quartet of Nikhil Kundu, Lukas Menkhoff, Ryan Drover, and Nicholas Borowsky took 13th in the prelims at 1:30.71 and later won the consolation final with a time of 1:29.59.

Up Next: The Sagehens will return to the pool tomorrow morning for preliminaries at 7:00 a.m and the Finals at 3:00 p.m. 

Day 2 - Women's 200 Freestyle Relay, Women's 100 Butterfly (Maddie Kauahi), Women's 400 Medley Relay (Cummings, Kauahi, Ling, Zurmuhl), 400 IM (Jason Lu), 100 Butterfly (Ryan Drover), 200 Freestyle (Will Abele).