Women's Swim and Dive Win Second SCIAC Title in Three Years

Women's Swim and Dive Win Second SCIAC Title in Three Years

COMMERCE, CA. – The Pomona-Pitzer women's swim and dive program took the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship in the final night of the four-day meet, clinching with a grand total of 1,166 points. This the second title in three years for the program. Winning three events that night, the Sagehens managed to edge cross-street rival Claremont-Mudd-Scripps by 151 points thanks to their depth of talented swimmers.

"We have talent and talent is helpful, but talent can only go so far," said Head Coach Jean-Paul Gowdy. "But we have a great coaching staff and great leaders. When things didn't go our way during the meet, we had great leaders to turn things around."

Maddie Kauahi, winner of five events at the SCIAC Championship, was named SCIAC Female Athlete of the Year.

 "I'm really honored because there's lot of great swimmers out there," said Kauahi after the meet. "I couldn't have done it without my team behind me, helping me get to where I am and pushing me at every single practice."

Emma van der Veen impressed on the boards, taking second place in the three-meter at 432.25 and making the NCAA B Cut.

Kicking off the swimming events with the long distance races, Vee Vanderpoel clinched third place at 17:44.83 to earn 18 meet points while Anna Newman took fourth at 17:46.82. Katherine Lauerman followed in fifth at 17:53.10 and Kirsten Mortimer took sixth at 18:01.43. Maia Pauley clocked in ninth at 18:23.00. Together they combined for 78 meet points.

Sarah Jin managed to take second in the 200 Backstroke at 2:03.80, making the NCAA B cut and earning 19 points. Angela Ling followed in third at 2:05.52 for 18 points and Tori Agostini took fifth at 2:06.78 (16 points). Lavinya Yap added to the cause, scoring 12 points after a ninth place finish at 2:09.03. Denise Dao rounded out the Sagehens with a 15th place finish at 2:11.38.

Kauahi shone in the 100 Freestyle, clinching first at 50.82 making the NCAA B Cut and setting the SCIAC Meet record. Hannah Zurmuhl took sixth at 52.36 and Kate Denend finished in eighth at 52.94. Alex Seidel crossed in ninth at 53.37 and Allison Liu took 11th at 52.58.

Over in the 200 Breaststroke, Mackenzie Cummings reached the podium with a third-place finish at 2:23.52 for 18 points and Erin Bigus followed in eighth at 2:27.17. Molly Weinstock took 12th at 2:30.12 and Clare Flynn took 14th at 2:31.52.

Sabrina Kwan won the 200 Butterfly at 2:05.78 to make the NCAA B cut and teammate Newman took seventh at 2:11.19. Adele Myers crossed in 11th at 2:11.38, Molly Weinstock in 13th at 2:13.75,  and Mikaela Nishida took 16th at 2:14.73.

In the final event of the evening, the Sagehens "A" team comprised of Zurmuhl, Alex Seidel, Denend, and Kauahi took first with a SCIAC Meet and Sagehens record time of 3:27.29. They also made the NCAA B cut. The "B" Team featuring Dao, Mortimer, Weinstock, and Vanderpoel, took 11th at 3:38.65.

Up Next: The Sagehens will compete again from Wednesday, March 21 to Saturday, March 24 at the NCAA Championship in Indianapolis, Indiana.