Women's Swim and Dive Climb Back To Top In Day 3

Women's Swim and Dive Climb Back To Top In Day 3

COMMERCE, CA. – The Pomona-Pitzer women's swim and dive team took back the top spot in the third day of the SCIAC Championship meet, registering 764 points which puts them ahead of second-place Claremont-Mudd-Scripps by 91 points. The Sagehens won three events on the third day and Maddie Kauahi (200 Yard Freestyle), MacKenzie Cummings (100 Breaststroke), and 400 Medley Relay (Cummings, Kauahi, Sabrina Kwan, and Sarah Jin) all made the NCAA B cuts.

Freshman Anna Newman continued her strong postseason run with a first-place finish in the 400 Individual Medley, clocking in at 4:32.97 and earning 22 points. Her teammates Vee Vanderpoel followed in second at 4:33.33 and took 19 points while Molly Weinstock took fifth (4:40.02). Lavinya Yap scored much-need additional points with a 10th place finish at 4:45.09 for 12 points.

Sabrina Kwan took second in the 100 Butterfly, finishing at 57.03 for 19 points. Alex Seidel took fourth at 57.11 and Hannah Zurmuhl took fifth at 57.26. Angela Ling clocked in at 57.63 for sixth and Allison Liu finished 13th at 58.11. Adele Myers rounded out the Sagehens in this event in 18th with a time of 1:00.29.

Kauahi made the NCAA B Cut with a third-place finish in the 200 Freestyle at 1:51.98 while Kirsten Mortimer took eighth at 1:55.21. Katherine Lauerman took 13th (1:56.49) and Kate Denend followed in 14th (1:58.15).

Cummings set the new Sagehens record in the 100 Breaststroke at 1:04.42 to earn 22 points while Erin Bigus took eighth at 1:07.55 to earn 13 points. Clare Flynn came through in 10th at 1:09.10.

Over in the 100 Backstroke, Sarah Jin took second at 56.12 while Angela Ling followed in fourth at 56.35. Tori Agostini took fifth at 57.75 and Liu took sixth at 58.08. Alex Seidel finished in ninth and Denise Dao took 10th. The swimmers combined for 89 points.

In the final event of the evening, the Sagehens "A" team comprised of Jin, Cummings, Kwan, and Kauahi took first at 3:47.01 to earn 44 points and setting the school record. The "B" team consisted of ling, Bigus, Seidel, and Zurmuhl recorded the second-fastest time of the meet, clocking in at 3:52.59