Women Swim & Dive: Sagehens Cruise Past La Verne 239-53

Women Swim & Dive: Sagehens Cruise Past La Verne 239-53

CLAREMONT, CA. – The Pomona-Pitzer Women's Swim and Dive Team triumphed to a 239-53 victory over Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference opponent La Verne on Saturday afternoon. The Sagehens controlled the meet, taking first place in all events but one.

Emma van der Veen took first in both diving events, winning the 3-meter at 226.44 and the 1-meter at 211.15.

Over at the distance events, Vee Vanderpoel won the 1650 Yard Freestyle at 18:27.40, more than three seconds ahead of second place swimmer Katherine Lauerman (18:30.97). Rachel Fox of La Verne won the 500 Freestyle at 5:37.57 while Allison Liu followed in second at 5:39.07.

In the 200 Medley Relay, Pomona-Pitzer's Team A took the top spot at 1:49.01. The team comprised of Angela Ling, Mackenzie Cummings, Mikaela Nishida, and Denise Dao.

Anna Newman took first place in the 200 Freestyle over teammate Maddie Kauahi, finishing at 1:59.50 while Kauahi crossed at 2:00.85. Angela Ling won the 50 Backstroke at 26.80 while Erin Bigus took first in the 50 Breaststroke at 32.92. Ling also won the 100 Backstroke, being the only finisher to go under a minute at 58.68.

Senior Alex Seidel cruised through the 200 Butterfly, clocking in at 2:17.29, more than six seconds ahead over teammate Vanderpoel (2:23.45). Hannah Zurmuhl won the 50 Freestyle at 24.70 and Kate Denend took first in the 100 Freestyle at 53.77 over Seidel (55.74).

Mackenzie Cummings came away with two victories, winning the 100 Breaststroke at 1:08.02 and the 50 Butterfly at 26.79. In the final individual event, Sabrina Kwan won the 200 Individual Medley at 2:15.47 while teammate Sarah Jin took second at 2:17.01.

In the final event of the afternoon, Pomona-Pitzer Team B, comprised of Denend, Denise Dao, Allison Liu, and Kirsten Mortimer, took first place in the 200 Freestyle Relay at 1:39.52.

Up Next: The Sagehens will travel to University of Redlands for a Dual Meet on Saturday, January 20 at 10:30 a.m.